Metaphysics What is truth?

Discussion in 'Metaphysics' started by nicksadie, Dec 17, 2004.

1. nicksadie

nicksadie New Member

I am a writer and value the opinions of others, as it shapes my own thinking and changes the world.

I hope to find and make many new friends here.

2. tablet

tablet Premium Member

Welcome Nick, glad to have you here.

Truth? you mean "Truth" in general or here at ID? I assumed you're referring to the Captain of Enlightenment. It's a title the one of them owned for played such an amazing game. So they decided to make this forum into truth. I'm sure other can give better answer. :up:

3. /Future Corpse/

/Future Corpse/ Premium Member

Absolute Truth is that which can not be untrue in any situation or perspective. So what could be deemed as Absolute Truth? Extremely little I would imagine. I know of only one thing.

4. helenheaven

helenheaven Premium Member

Welcome aboard Nicksadie

I'm sure that you'll meet many friends here!

Cheers

Helen

5. pineappleupsidedown

pineappleupsidedown Premium Member

Welcome!

Hope you enjoy your stay

---pineapple

6. nicksadie

nicksadie New Member

Thank you for the welcome.

I wish I knew what truth was in general or at ID or anywhere. Some say it is all relative: What is truth for me may not be truth for you. What do we measure it by? Who's yardstick do we use? Yours or mine? Truth tends to be truth until it is challenged and only then by being tested can we in the end with some reasonableness say that we have a "truth". But is there an absolute and irrifutable truth? So often we believe things to be true only to be shaken up when we discover that our believe was flawed.

The definition given by "Future Corpse" is valid to a degree. But it is just a definition. The questions is: What fits the definition?

7. tablet

tablet Premium Member

I wonder what would happen to us if we have absolute truth or know our very purpose of existen. It seems like we're all aiming for it. Are we slave to logic?