Puzzles & Games "What in the World" Game 2 Round 2

Discussion in 'Puzzles & Games' started by pineappleupsidedown, Jan 21, 2005.

  1. pineappleupsidedown

    pineappleupsidedown Premium Member

    \"What in the World\" Game 2 Round 2

    The Rules:

    ** Staff not aware of the answer are allowed to participate **

    1) Zsandmann is in charge of the games for the time being, all questions regarding play should be deferred to him.

    2) Rules are in place for fair play. Being BIG PEOPLE we know what is playing fair and what is not. If you have to ask if it is fair, then I think you already know the answer. Anything deemed unfair will be bannable.

    3) As with anything else in life. All rules are subject to change without notice.

    4) The winner of a game will recieve the custom title ::GameMaster::

    5)::GM:: keeps title for a month or until next game, then must try to maintain their title against a new challenge.

    6)::GM::'s go in a Hall of Fame
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------------
    What in the World?

    1) Each member may ask ONE yes/no/north/south/east/west question per day.
    Day is considered 24 hours from 12 midnight GMT.
    Example: Is the thing a man? NO.
    Example: Is the location Antartica? Too far south.

    **All locations will be relative to the object **

    2) Zsandmann or another staff member will answer each inquiry.

    3) Object of the game: To find a person and a place.

    4) If you get a yes answer, then you are allowed to ask one more question. There is a daily limit of five questions per member.

    5) Winner will be the first person to identify the exact person at the exact location. The FINAL answer is NOT a question, it is a statement of the person and location. This can only be made once both have been verified by a question.
    ***CLARIFICATION: If a member gets a no answer but the resulting answer reveals the final part of the puzzle, they MAY post the answer.

    6.) There are to be no more double negative questions.
    EX. The item is NOT the Mona Lisa, correct?

    7.)4 prelims, then a 4-way finals round, once a person wins a prelim they cant participate until the finals, all other participants may try again.
    -----------------------------------------------

    You need to find a person and a location.

    [Edited on 1-21-2005 by pineappleupsidedown]
     
  2. oddtodd

    oddtodd Premium Member

    Wha hooooo ! Ok then ... title to defend here .

    Is the location in the northern hemisphere ?
    PA:Yes

    [Edited on 1-21-2005 by pineappleupsidedown]
     
  3. helenheaven

    helenheaven Premium Member

    Is the person male?
    PA: Yes

    [Edited on 1-21-2005 by pineappleupsidedown]
     
  4. oddtodd

    oddtodd Premium Member

    that narrows it down to half the world and the sex...
     
  5. helenheaven

    helenheaven Premium Member

    Is the person well known ?
    Z: No, I wouldnt say so.


    [Edited on 22-1-05 by Zsandmann]
     
  6. oddtodd

    oddtodd Premium Member

    With the greenwich meridian as a zero longitude line reference , is the location between 0 degrees and 180 degrees ?

    Z: Well this is tricky, cause longitude isnt measured from 0 to 360, it is commonly 0 to 180 E and 0 to 180 W. So in that respect yes it is between 0 and 180 but that doesnt help you at all. Another longitude convention is to make the eastern hemisphere 0 to 180 and the western hemisphere 0 to -180. I will assume this is what you meant. So in that respect the answer is:

    NO: It is not between 0 and 180 degrees longitude.


    This concludes the longest GM answer ever.

    [Edited on 22-1-05 by Zsandmann]
     
  7. junior_smith

    junior_smith Premium Member

    Is it on land?

    ( i don't understand, is it 0-180 in the easter or western hemisphere?)

    Z: Yes

    [Edited on 24-1-05 by Zsandmann]
     
  8. oddtodd

    oddtodd Premium Member

    wow ! I did not know that !

    junior_smith , the location is in the western side o the line
     
  9. Gopher

    Gopher Member

    Good luck to everybody in this round! :bounce:
     
  10. oddtodd

    oddtodd Premium Member

    Since I got my last question wrong and can't ask another for 24 hours , i thought I would give this a bump to the top and invite more players !

    * edit : Hey , you know what ? The question I got wrong was answered yesterday , but posted the night before . Can we just go from our posting time stamp as opposed to the time the question is answered ?

    [Edited on 23-1-2005 by oddtodd]
     
  11. junior_smith

    junior_smith Premium Member

    sombody answer my question plz, i'll restate it here

    is it on land?
     
  12. helenheaven

    helenheaven Premium Member

    Is the location within the USA ?
    Z: Yes

    [Edited on 24-1-05 by Zsandmann]
     
  13. junior_smith

    junior_smith Premium Member

    is the location west of texas?

    PA: No

    [Edited on 1-25-2005 by pineappleupsidedown]
     
  14. helenheaven

    helenheaven Premium Member

    Is the location south of Monterey ?

    PA: Plz be more specific as to which state you are talking about

    [Edited on 1-25-2005 by pineappleupsidedown]

    Monterey, California

    Z: yes


    [Edited on 25-1-05 by Zsandmann]
     
  15. helenheaven

    helenheaven Premium Member

    Is it North of Los Angeles?

    PA: No

    [Edited on 1-26-2005 by pineappleupsidedown]

    [Edited on 6-2-2005 by helenheaven]
     
  16. overrocked

    overrocked Premium Member

    Is it a blue state? (pertaining to the 2004 election)

    PA: No

    [Edited on 1-27-2005 by pineappleupsidedown]
     
  17. junior_smith

    junior_smith Premium Member

    is it in florida?

    PA: No

    [Edited on 1-26-2005 by pineappleupsidedown]
     
  18. pineappleupsidedown

    pineappleupsidedown Premium Member

  19. helenheaven

    helenheaven Premium Member

    Is it north of Santa Barbara?
    Z: NO

    [Edited on 30-1-05 by Zsandmann]
     
  20. oddtodd

    oddtodd Premium Member

    Is it East of the Mississippi River ?
    Z: YES

    [Edited on 30-1-05 by Zsandmann]