Lit & The Arts Potential

Discussion in 'Literature & The Arts' started by Young William, Apr 3, 2005.

1. Young William

Young William Premium Member

What does "Potential" mean to each ID member?
    Obviously my primary interests are rooted in a betterment of social interaction and individual accomplishment.....I'm studying Psychology at the Masters' level.
    I realize that most who post here at ID, avoid contreversial topics such as politics, racism, bigotry, and "class structure," but I can't help but post my particular take on the planet we call home.......at least for now.........

I believe that "Potential" is a term only attainable to those with an adequate financial "support" system, need I say more?

2. Bleys

Bleys Phoenix Takes Flight Staff Member

I am curious why you believe this. While I agree that it may be easier to reach one's potential given sufficient finances - I don't think it is an absolute. There are many examples of people who reached, or exceeded, their potential due solely to hard work and sacrifice. I think the gratification these people feel is probably much higher since they were wholy responsible for it.

B.

3. GoneFission

GoneFission Premium Member

Financial resources is only one component that contributes to a person's overall "potential." As Bleys pointed out, there have been many cases where people have overcome that obstacle to become highly successful. How did they do it? They increased the other components enough that finances didn't matter.

Off the top of my head, here's the basic components that contribute to potential:

• Financial resources
    • Intelligence
    • Physical ability
    • Creativity
    • Personality
    • Motivation
    I'm sure there are more, but I think those capture a majority of them. Each component contributes to potential to various degrees, with the actual weight highly dependant upon the person's aspirations.