Technology New Trebuchet!

Discussion in 'Technology' started by Mizar, Nov 20, 2004.

1. Mizar

Mizar Premium Member

Well im about to start building another trebuchet. This will be my 5th one ive done. My other ones have either roted or have been torn apart for other reasons. I enjoyed the time i had building and launching stuff with them though. My main pourpose in building this one is for New Years. hehhehehehehe......

yea we want to launch alot of stuff and have things blown up and welll etc you know......

if any one is intrested in trebuchets please ask me for more information ill be happy to give it. Ill post the details on how its coming. I just started drawing the plans today.

2. Mizar

Mizar Premium Member

ok here is what its looking like so far.

Height of axle 3 1/2 feet
    Length of throwing arm 7 feet
    lenght of short arm 2 feet
    Length of long arm 5 feet
    Counter weight mass 30 lbs
    and a sling that is 3.5 feet long

the physics involved in shoothing these things is phenominal

changing the slightest thing can impact accuracy, distance, and overall preformance.

ive had to work for hours before to get one to shoot right because i just changed the counter weight mass

they are verry hard to tame beasts.....

3. oddtodd

oddtodd Premium Member

Mizar , I posted a link to a book called " Harry And I Build A Siege Weapon " on another thread . The story (true story) was about a few guys and theire pet project .

The end piece wound up being a giant crossbow with old leaf springs for the tension arms if you can picture that ! . It was more than a lever mechanism with an arm .... Something to think about , and definitely take a look at the book . This thing LAUNCHED softball size rocks a very long distance !

4. pineappleupsidedown

pineappleupsidedown Premium Member

So what exactly is a trebuchet for all those readers out there?:puz:

I wasnt talk about me, i swear:@@:

---pineapple

5. oddtodd

oddtodd Premium Member