Earth Science Geophysics / Hydrogeophysics

Discussion in 'Earth Science' started by Zsandmann, Sep 1, 2004.

1. Zsandmann

Zsandmann Premium Member

I would like take take a little time to tell everyone about what I do. First off Im simply a geophysicist. A geophysicist is a scientist that uses remote sensing equipment to get a visual picture of the earth's interior without ever digging a hole or picking up a rock. It is very uninvasive. So that is the basics, now I will go a little more in depth on what I just discribed and lastly, I will talk about what exactly I do in the geophysical field. The other title of this thread Hydrogeophysics is what I am actually studying and that is when you apply geophysics to the study of groundwater to develop models for flow mapping, contamination movement, and remediation.

So Geophysics. Geo refers to geology, the composition of the earth. Geophysicists look at earth structure from shallow crust (to look at water tables, petroleum fields, natural gas) to deep crust (faulting, structure, mountain building, rifting) to deep mantle and even the core (tectonic modeling, hot spot mapping, etc.) The latter deep core and mantle can only be studied by harnessing natural phenomena such as earthquakes. More on this later.
    Physics. Pretty obvious here. The physics come in to play when trying to described waves such as seismic waves propagating through the earth. Wave theory and other geophysics requires at minimum an understanding of calculus with an emphasis on derivations and integration. Also some differential equations are needed to fully desribe wave movement.