Sociology Fashion of Tomorrow

Discussion in 'Sociology' started by tablet, Mar 3, 2005.

1. tablet

tablet Premium Member

We all watched the news and saw how bad this is for the girl. Whenever we talk about fashion the female are always on the spotlight good or bad. The pressure is more on them than the male.

Fashion - It affects how you think/act
    I am no expert in fashion study but would like to have a general discusion about it. I do believe that the things you wear and are conscious about it does affect you alot in some way.

And not to get into conspiracy or anything but those who controls fashion controls your mind. Let's us talk both the positive and negative of fashion.

Also, I can imagine how hard it will be like to find a decent clothing as you age.

2. Young William

Young William Premium Member

Tablet,
    This topic makes for a great Social Psych. review. You're right on with citing the pressure that Western society places upon women to remain beautiful. Once again, I'd like to bring the American dream back into the picture. Diversity has attained such a point were it's safe to say that every segment is represented in society. For the female, they can find the "model" of their choice across ethnic lines, from Beyonce to J-LO, to Lucy-Lu(Charlie's Angels' remake) to evryother model that would be the /american./
    Twenty years ago, Brooke Sheilds stood for "fashion." twenty years later, there's a "Brooke Sheilds" for everyone. the only thing that hasn't changed, is the fallacies that they convey, once again individuality compromised for "attention."(normalcy?).

3. helenheaven

helenheaven Premium Member

I think the only "victims" of "fashion" tend to be teenagers who all want to conform and thus all wear the same thing whether it suits them or not. The latest fashion is also bulk produced and therefore cheap.